The emergence of the new
Kingston Hospitals

Chronology

2012 - 2013

In 2012, the construction of Kingston Hospital was able to start from private funds Dr. C. K. Cheruiyots. First step was the construction of the foundation walls in extension of the walls that have been on the property for years. The following year, Maria, accompanied by Theresa Tuschl, who offered her support and who has also been a member of the board since then, travelled to Likoni for the second time to discuss the exact planning and further procedure. In February 2013, the construction of the roof began. The ceiling of the first floor had to be concreted during the night because the temperatures during the day were too high for this.

A3.JPG
2014 Hebauf (12).JPG

2014

 

One year later, in February 2014, we celebrated a classic German "Hebauf" (topping-out ceremony) with Viennese sausages and potato salad. The next step was to build partitions, windows, doors, and the floor. We were able to almost finish the interior work completely in March 2014. Besides, the foundation walls for the first flooras well as the volunteer house was also built. A 3000-litre water tank was installed on the roof, so that there is running water in the whole hospital since 12/13/2014. On December 17th, 2014, Dr. Cheruiyot and nurse Joyce Naftal finally started their first shift at the new Kingston Hospital.

2015

In March 2015, the facade of the building was completed. It now bears the inscription "Kingston Likoni - Healthcare for all", so that it is recognisable to everyone as a hospital with our mission statement of providing health care for all people. New clothes for the staff in matching colours for the new Kingston Hospital were sewn, new wardrobes were made, and chairs, beds, IV stands, a birthing bed and much more were purchased.

n21.jpg
u1.JPG

2016

In 2016, the planning of the first floor took place, which should offer the possibility for larger operations in the future. For this purpose, our team visited other hospitals and operating theaters in Mombasa. In addition, the electricity and water pipes on the first floor have already been laid.

2017

In March 2017, the first floor was almost completely finished: Walls were painted, lamps and curtains were installed and doors and windows were fitted. Other important furnishings such as beds, bedside tables and IV stands were purchased. In addition, the construction of two more rooms above the volunteer house began.

x9996.JPG
xxx6.JPG

2018

In 2018 we mainly focused on improving the roof. As there was only a flat concrete roof on the hospital until then, the hospital was not adequately protected during the rainy season. Accordingly, the planning and conversion to a pitched roof was carried out. In 2018, we also sent larger quantities of material from Germany to Mombasa by plane for the first time. A total of 20 boxes - 400kg. Including a sterilizer, instruments and many important medical materials.

2019

The operating theater could be equipped with an operating table and an operating lamp. Since then, small surgical interventions can be performed there. A staff kitchen was built, the patient rooms on the first floor can be occupied, disinfectant dispensers were installed throughout the building and the material room was equipped. For the first time, imaging diagnostics is possible at Kingston Hospital through the purchase of an ultrasound machine. As a further step towards the commissioning of the operating theatre, we were able to acquire the two plots of land next to the hospital in order to build a ramp there, which should now enable the transport of patients in a lying position to the upper floors.  Wifi was integrated to improve communication with the NGO and to enable a hospital information system in the future. The rooms above the volunteer house were completed.

2019 (14).JPG
2020%20(21)_edited.jpg

2020

The construction of the ramp for the lying transport began. This now leads to the first floor. The hospital information system could be installed and implemented. A new electrocardiogram allows further diagnostics.

Die Entstehung des neuen
Kingston Hospitals

Chronologie

2012 - 2013

2012 konnte der Bau des Kingston Hospitals aus privaten Mitteln Dr. C. K. Cheruiyots mit der Errichtung der Grundmauern in Erweiterung der auf dem Grundstück bereits seit Jahren befindlichen Mauern beginnen. Im folgenden Jahr reiste Maria in Begleitung von Theresa Tuschl, die ihre Unterstützung anbot und seither ebenfalls ein Mitglied der Vorstandschaft ist, zum zweiten Mal nach Likoni, um die genaue Planung und das weitere Vorgehen zu besprechen. Im Februar 2013 wurde damit begonnen, das Dach zu bauen. Dabei musste die Decke des ersten Stockwerkes in der Nacht betoniert werden, da die Temperaturen tagsüber dafür zu hoch waren.

A3.JPG
2014 Hebauf (12).JPG

2014

Ein Jahr später, im Februar 2014, feierten wir einen klassischen deutschen „Hebauf“ (Richtfest) mit Wienerwürstchen und Kartoffelsalat. Im nächsten Schritt waren Zwischenwände, Fenster, Türen sowie der Fußboden an der Reihe. Den Innenausbau konnten wir im März 2014 fast komplett abschließen. Neben den Grundmauern für das erste Stockwerk, wurde des Weiteren auch das Freiwilligenhaus errichtet. Auf dem Dach wurde ein 3000-Liter-Wassertank installiert, sodass es seit dem 13.12.2014 im ganzen Krankenhaus fließendes Wasser gibt. Am 17.12.2014 war es endlich soweit und Dr. Cheruiyot und Krankenschwester Joyce Naftal traten die erste Schicht im neuen Kingston Hospital an.

2015

Im März 2015 wurde die Fassade des Hauses fertiggestellt. Diese führt nunmehr die Aufschrift „Kingston Likoni – Healthcare for all“, sodass es für jeden als Krankenhaus mit unserem Leitbild der Krankenversorgung für alle Menschen erkennbar ist. Neue Kleidung für das Personal in passenden Farben zum neuen Kingston Hospital wurde genäht, neue Schränke gezimmert und Stühle, Betten, Infusionsständer, eine Geburtenliege und vieles mehr angeschafft.

n21.jpg
u1.JPG

2016

2016 erfolgte die Planung des ersten Stockwerkes, welches zukünftig die Möglichkeit für größere Operationen bieten soll. Hierfür hospitierte unser Team in anderen Krankenhäusern und OP-Sälen Mombasas. Außerdem konnten bereits die Strom -und Wasserleitungen im ersten Stock verlegt werden.

2017

Im März 2017 wurde das erste Stockwerk fast vollständig fertig gestellt: Wände wurden gestrichen, Lampen und Vorhänge angebracht sowie Türen und Fenster eingebaut. Weitere wichtige Einrichtungsgegenstände wie Betten, Nachtkästchen und Infusionsständer wurden gekauft. Außerdem begann der Bau zwei weiterer Räume über dem Freiwilligenhaus.

x9996.JPG
xxx6.JPG

2018

2018 haben wir uns hauptsächlich der Verbesserung des Daches gewidmet. Da bis dahin nur ein flaches Betondach auf dem Krankenhaus war, war das Krankenhaus in der Regenzeit nicht ausreichend geschützt. Dementsprechend erfolgte nun die Planung und Umrüstung zum Spitzdach. 2018 haben wir zudem das erste Mal größere Mengen Material von Deutschland nach Mombasa mit dem Flugzeug geschickt. Insgesamt 20 Kartons—400kg. Mit dabei ein Sterilisator, Instrumente und viele wichtige medizinische Materialien.

2019

Der Operationsraum konnte mit einem OP-Tisch und einer OP-Lampe ausgestattet werden. Kleine chirurgische Eingriffe können seither dort vorgenommen werden. Eine Personalküche wurde errichtet, die Patientenzimmer im ersten Stock sind belegbar, Desinfektionsmittelspender wurden im ganzen Haus angebracht und der Materialraum ausgestattet. Erstmals ist bildgebende Diagnostik im Kingston Hospital durch Anschaffung eines Ultraschallgerätes möglich. Als weiteren Schritt in Richtung Inbetriebnahme des Operationssaales, konnten wir die beiden Grundstücke neben dem Krankenhaus erwerben, um hier eine Rampe zu bauen, die nunmehr den Liegendtransport von Patient*innen in die oberen Stockwerke ermöglichen soll.  Zur Verbesserung der Kommunikation mit dem Verein und der Ermöglichung eines Krankenhausinformationssystems in der Zukunft wurde WLAN integriert. Die Räume über dem Freiwilligenhaus wurden fertig gestellt.

2019 (14).JPG
2020%20(21)_edited.jpg

2020

Der Bau der Rampe für die Liegendtransporte begann. Diese führt nun bereits in das erste Stockwerk. Das Krankenhausinformationssystem konnte installiert und implementiert werden. Ein Elektrokardiogramm erlaubt nunmehr weiterführende Diagnostik.