Limo

After a sports injury to his knee at the age of 17, the now 47-year-old taxi driver Limo was not properly treated. At that time, our NGO did not yet exist, so Limo was only given a bandage due to a lack of adequate diagnostics and therapy. Over the years, a massive knee deformity developed, with consecutive increasing damage to the knee due to the incorrect weight bearing. Massive swelling and severe pain were the result.

IMG-20181010-WA0008.jpg
IMG-20190117-WA0019_edited.jpg

 

Eventually Limo could no longer pursue his profession. Because he could no longer feed his family, his wife separated from him. Thus, he has not seen his three children for six years now. Friends have supported him since then with food and money. One of these friends is the owner and chief physician of theKingston Hospital , Dr. C. K. Cheruiyot, on whose property Limo is currently living free of charge.

 

In the first years of the project, we were able to relieve Limo's complaints with painkillers, crutches and bandages until, finally, in January 2019, your support enabled the surgical implantation of a knee prosthesis in a specialised clinic in Kijabe (Western Kenya). Thanks to subsequent physiotherapy, Limo is now able to walk without any problems and also to resume his profession as a taxi driver.

 

IMG-20190206-WA0042.jpg

Limo

Nach einer Sportverletzung am Knie im Alter von 17 Jahren ist der heute 47-jährige Taxifahrer Limo nicht richtig versorgt worden. Damals gab es unseren Verein noch nicht, sodass Limo mangels adäquater Diagnostik und Therapie lediglich eine Bandage ausgehändigt wurde. Über die Jahre entwickelte sich so eine massive Kniefehlstellung mit konsekutiv zunehmender Schädigung des Knies durch die Fehlbelastung. Massive Schwellungszustände und starke Schmerzen waren die Folge.

IMG-20181010-WA0008.jpg
IMG-20190117-WA0019_edited.jpg

Schließlich konnte Limo seinen Beruf nicht mehr ausüben. Weil er die Familie nicht mehr ernähren konnte, trennte sich seine Frau von ihm. So hat er seine drei Kinder seit nun sechs Jahren nicht mehr gesehen. Freund*innen unterstützen ihn seither mit Nahrung und Geld. Einer dieser Freund*innen ist der Inhaber und Chefarzt des Kingston Hospitals Dr. C. K. Cheruiyot, auf dessen Grundstück Limo derzeit kostenfrei wohnt.

 

In den ersten Jahren des Projektes konnten wir Limos Beschwerden über Schmerzmittel, Unterarmgehstützen und Bandagen lindern bis schließlich im Januar 2019 durch Ihre Unterstützung der operative Einsatz einer Knieprothese in einer spezialisierten Klinik in Kijabe (Westkenia) erfolgen konnte. Durch nachfolgende Physiotherapie ist Limo heute in der Lage problemlos zu laufen und auch seinem Beruf als Taxifahrer wieder nachzugehen.

IMG-20190206-WA0042.jpg